Yes, you can pack 10 days into a carry-on!

Packed suitcase closed. Packing for a 10-day trip on Friday, March 6, 2015. Photo by Cristina Fletes-Boutte, cfletes-boutte@post-dispatch.com

All packed for a 10-day trip. Photo by Cristina Fletes-Boutte, cfletes-boutte@post-dispatch.com

Traveling light is a great way to put yourself in a vacation frame of mind. I’m still guilty of over packing, but now it’s only an extra shirt or two. I’ve had trips in the not too distant past where I returned with a weeks worth of items untouched. That’s space I always wish I could have used for souvenirs and shopping trophies, so here’s what I’ve learned.

Rule No. 1: Pack with forethought not panic. You can easily fit a 10- to 12-day wardrobe of options into a carry-on and a tote, but probably not if you start by throwing in all your favorite items hoping to get inspired by what to wear during your trip.

Be reasonable about what you’re likely to do on your vacation. Will extravagant five-star dinners require cocktail attire or will you spend more time in a swimsuit and sarong? Are you really going to need running shoes and five pairs of workout gear?

The dirty little secret about travel is that one cares what you’re wearing. They are strangers, you’re a stranger. You’ve got nothing to prove. Believe that.

Check out the full story at How to Pack 10 Days of Style in a Carry-on with Room to Spare or view the photo album of all the objects I fit into the carry-on.

I will admit that this packing job was among my best ever. And, yes, everything you see fit into that bag with about one-third of the space left for holiday shopping.

Packing2015_1 Packing2015_2

Leave a comment