Destination: Denver. No, I’m not going to Boulder.

denverI don’t do many travel stories but this trip coincided with two conferences that happened to be in Denver over two consecutive weekends. I went to the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers Conference one weekend and the Online News Association conference the next. Both sides of my brain were very satisfied.

Anyway, I had a few days between conferences so I proposed a travel story because that’s what journalists do. We like to work on vacation. It’s a very bad habit. I started getting suggestions of where to go and what to do and I was immediately shocked that everyone was trying to get me to leave Denver … you know, as if Denver sucked.

Meanwhile, I kept wondering, umm, isn’t Denver a destination. Why should I leave? Aren’t there things to do here? Of course, there were. And I get it, the region is so rich with activities and quaint towns and picturesque locations that it’s hard to stay put, but maybe it’s the yogi in me. I wanted to relax and breath and that’s what I did. I took one trip out to the Red Rocks Amphitheater, but otherwise, I had a thoroughly enjoyable time right there in Denver. I don’t feel like I missed a thing and that became the focus of my story.

You can read it online here: Don’t Underestimate Denver.

Denver2016_crop1Denver2016_crop2

Leave a Reply

