In Defense Of Photoshop

 

lena

I was a little ticked off that people were so critical of Lena Dunham’s Vogue spread. I’m glad I wasn’t the only one. Photos are not reality and fashion photos are usually a heavy dose of fantasy. To say that a fashion photo looks unrealistic is to say that the sky is blue.

And, yes, yes, I know about all the bad image problems that can be attributed to such, but we need to create a world where girls are valued for more than their appearance. Maybe then they’ll stop looking for personal validation in a magazine. You don’t have to look like Kate Moss, you can look like yourself and lead a lovely life. So why are we blaming the fashion magazines when it’s our own culture that perpetuates it. But that’s a rant for another day. I decided to take up the torch for the much maligned Photoshop program when they lamented Lena’s less than obvious figure corrections.

I still side with the feminist writer who tweeted something to the effect of … “If I’m ever in Vogue, Photoshop the hell out of me.” Can I get an amen?

Even my new column mug that made a debut slightly before this column isn’t I-woke-up-this-way me. So I talked about the nature of photography. It’s always been a craft and there’s always an element of enhancement, even if it’s the subtle position of a camera above a subject and not below. Selfie culture has taught us many tricks. We should not be fooled by the magic. And apparently, I’m not the only one who feels this way, my story that you can see on a single page here, A Few Words in Defense of Photoshop was shared more than 500 times.

Leave a Reply

